Trading CFDs and forex carries a high level of risk and may not be suitable for all investors. Read the relevant Product Disclosure Statement before opening an account.
Our verdict on Interactive Brokers
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) is the ASIC-regulated broker for Australians who think of themselves as investors first and CFD speculators second. I see it as the closest thing to a professional global investing desk in retail clothing among the 32 brokers on this site. You get direct market access to 150 markets across 33 countries, the lowest stock brokerage costs recorded here for an Australian-resident account, multi-currency funding, and a NASDAQ-listed parent trading since 1978. IBKR is not a forex specialist, and beginners find it hard going.
The qualifications are real, and I won't downplay them. Trader Workstation takes two to four weeks of paper trading to learn. The absence of MT4 and MT5 rules IBKR out for forex traders running MetaTrader expert advisors. IBKR Pro pricing rewards volume rather than beginners. For a global portfolio of Australian shares, US stocks, options, futures and some forex under one ASIC-regulated login, IBKR is hard to beat.
Pros
- ASIC AFSL 453554 (Interactive Brokers Australia Pty Ltd), backed by a NASDAQ-listed parent regulated globally by SEC, FINRA, CFTC, FCA, MAS, CIRO, JFSA and HKSFC
- The cheapest ASX brokerage of the 32 brokers on this site, from A$6 per trade, and US shares from US$0.005 per share on a US$1 minimum
- You get multi-currency accounts that hold AUD, USD, EUR, GBP and more than 20 other currencies natively, with no forced conversion at deposit or withdrawal
- 150 markets across 33 countries with direct exchange access, the widest product range of any broker on our shortlist
- You get ten integrated research feeds and tools inside Trader Workstation at no extra cost, the deepest desktop stack in our 32-broker coverage
Cons
- I'd plan on two to four weeks of paper trading before you go live with Trader Workstation; it scores 5 of 10 on our platform assessment
- No MT4, no MT5 and no cTrader. If you run existing forex EAs, this is not the broker for you.
- Every AUD pair including AUD/USD is classified as a minor at 20:1, against the 30:1 major cap other brokers on this site apply. That's a real hit for an Australian trader.
- Funding runs over bank rails only: PayID, EFT, BPAY, Wise and wire transfers, with no card or PayPal deposit option for Australian accounts.
- Customer support is 24/5 (Sunday 1:00 PM to Friday 7:30 PM US Eastern Time), so you get no weekend coverage in Australian hours.
Interactive Brokers score breakdown
4.5/5 · Excellent
The overall CFB Score comes from the full methodology, more than 100 data points per broker.
How is our rating calculated?Is IBKR safe? ASIC AFSL 453554
Interactive Brokers holds ASIC AFSL 453554, continuously since 2016. Its NASDAQ-listed parent answers to eight Tier-1 regulators including the SEC, FCA and MAS, giving it a regulatory stack as deep as any broker on this site.
ASIC regulation and global licences
The Australian Securities and Investments Commission register verifies that Interactive Brokers Australia Pty Ltd holds AFSL 453554. The licence has been continuously held since 2016.

The parent company, Interactive Brokers Group Inc, is regulated globally by:
- Securities and Exchange Commission, USA (Tier 1)
- FINRA, USA (Tier 1)
- Commodity Futures Trading Commission, USA (Tier 1)
- Financial Conduct Authority, UK (Tier 1)
- Monetary Authority of Singapore (Tier 1)
- Canadian Investment Regulatory Organization (Tier 1)
- Japan Financial Services Agency (Tier 1)
- Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission (Tier 1)
Eight Tier-1 regulators across the major financial centres, on top of the Australian licence.
Public reviews
Interactive Brokers holds a Trustpilot rating of 3.1 out of 5 from 5,477 reviews, which Trustpilot labels average, captured September 2026. The profile has been claimed by the broker since May 2019.

I’ve seen three recurring complaints about IBKR: Trader Workstation is hard to learn, support response slows at weekends, and the documentation is dense. None of those is a stability or safety concern.
How popular is Interactive Brokers in Australia?
In August 2026, Interactive Brokers was the most searched of the 32 ASIC-regulated brokers we review, on 50,860 branded Google searches from Australia. Search interest measures attention, not quality; the score above is the review verdict.
- 50,860
- Brand searches, August 2026
- +1.2%
- vs July 2026
- 8,510
- Login searches
- 28.2%
- Share of all broker searches
Source: Google search volume, Australia, August 2026. How this is measured
What other review sites say
Interactive Brokers' iOS app rates 4.35 out of 5 from 1,242 ratings on the Australian App Store (August 2026), listed as IBKR Mobile - Invest Worldwide.
Android users rate Interactive Brokers' Android app 4.5 out of 5 from 73.5k reviews worldwide on Google Play (August 2026), listed as IBKR Mobile.
TradingView users rate Interactive Brokers 4.2 out of 5 from 38,904 ratings (September 2026). 387.4K TradingView users have connected a Interactive Brokers account. TradingView named Interactive Brokers its Best in Options broker for North America 2025 and its Best multi-asset broker 2024.

Before depositing, confirm IBKR holds AFSL 453554 using the site's guide to checking a broker on ASIC's register.
IBKR client money and its NASDAQ-listed parent
IBKR client money sits in segregated accounts at an Approved Australian Bank, with AFCA membership for disputes. Its NASDAQ-listed parent has traded since 1978.
Client money and negative balance protection
IBKR holds retail client money separately from the company’s own funds. ASIC requires negative balance protection on retail CFD accounts, so you cannot lose more than the money in the account. AFCA hears claims up to A$1,263,000 and awards compensation up to A$631,500. I would note that the Compensation Scheme of Last Resort pays at most A$150,000, and only for personal advice, securities dealing and credit, so forex and CFD trading sit outside it.
Listed parent and financial stability
I like that transparency. Interactive Brokers Group has been listed on NASDAQ under the ticker IBKR since 2007, and the operating business dates to 1978. As a listed parent, it files publicly, which puts capital ratios and segregation practice on the public record every quarter rather than in a private attestation. Founder and chairman Thomas Peterffy retains a major shareholding. Capital ratios sit consistently above the regulatory minimums in every jurisdiction the group operates in.
IBKR at a glance: 19 key facts
19 key facts for Interactive Brokers (IBKR) appear in the table below: ASIC AFSL 453554, an A$0 minimum deposit, and direct access to 150 markets across 33 countries.
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Australian regulator | ASIC, AFSL 453554 |
| Australian entity | Interactive Brokers Australia Pty Ltd |
| Other regulators | SEC, FINRA, CFTC (USA), FCA (UK), MAS (Singapore), CIRO (Canada), JFSA (Japan), HKSFC (Hong Kong) |
| Year founded | 1978 globally; AU entity licensed 2016 (AFSL 453554) |
| Listed | NASDAQ:IBKR (Interactive Brokers Group) |
| Headquarters | Greenwich, Connecticut, USA; AU office Sydney |
| Trading platforms | Trader Workstation (TWS), IBKR Desktop, IBKR Mobile, IBKR GlobalTrader, Client Portal (web), IBKR API, native TradingView integration |
| Account types | IBKR Pro (commission per trade), the only retail type; Wholesale / Institutional by qualification |
| Minimum deposit | A$0 |
| Maximum retail leverage | 30:1 (forex majors), ASIC-capped. IBKR treats all AUD pairs, including AUD/USD, as minors at 20:1 |
| Spreads from (EUR/USD) | ~0.10 pips advertised, plus per-trade commission; not in the June 2026 spread capture |
| ASX share brokerage | From A$6 per trade |
| US share brokerage | From US$0.005 per share, US$1 minimum |
| Funding methods (AU) | PayID, bank transfer (EFT), Wise Balance transfer, BPAY, wire |
| Inactivity fee | A$0 (removed 2021) |
| Negative balance protection | Yes (mandatory under ASIC for retail clients) |
| AFCA member | Yes |
| Demo account | Free, paper-trading version of TWS |
| Customer support | 24/5 (Sunday 1:00 PM to Friday 7:30 PM ET) phone, chat, email |
I’d say those 19 rows set the frame for the cost detail below, where the ASX and US share commissions do most of the work.
IBKR ASX and US share commissions
Interactive Brokers spreads start at A$6 per ASX share trade and US$0.005 per US share, on a US$1 minimum. The table below prices an A$5,000 ASX trade against four rivals.
ASX and global share commissions
On share dealing, IBKR pulls clear daylight from the rest of the Australian broker field.
| Broker | AUD 5,000 ASX trade | USD 5,000 US share trade |
|---|---|---|
| Interactive Brokers | AUD 6.00 | USD 1.00 (200 shares at $25) |
| CMC Markets Stockbroking | AUD 11.00 | USD 11.00 or 0.10% |
| CommSec | AUD 10.00 (Pocket) / AUD 19.95 standard | Not directly available |
| SelfWealth | AUD 9.50 flat | USD 9.50 flat |
| Stake | AUD 3.00 (Stake Black) / AUD 5.00 standard | USD 3.00 |
The two columns carry different currencies on purpose. A$6 is the ASX figure and US$1 is the US-share floor, and IBKR bills each leg in the currency the trade settles in rather than converting to Australian dollars. For you, that opens hundreds of dollars a year against a dearer broker at ten ASX and ten US trades a month, before conversion costs on the US side. The A$6 ASX floor is ranked against the field on the lowest commission brokers page.
Options, futures and bonds
I’d note US options start at US$0.65 per contract, US Treasury futures at US$0.85 per contract, and government bonds at 0.002% of face value on a US$5 minimum. IBKR prices those three classes at professional tier, and its options, futures and bond stack extends into bond and treasury CFDs.
Other fees Australian traders should check
- Currency conversion costs 0.20 basis points, on a US$2 minimum, when a client chooses to convert.
- Market data fees apply on real-time feed subscriptions. ASX Level 1 runs around A$5 a month.
- No inactivity fee applies. IBKR removed the US$10 monthly minimum in 2021.
- The first withdrawal each calendar month is free.
- Margin borrow rates sit among the lowest in retail.
I should note that forex pricing works on a different basis again, and the section below states what IBKR publishes and what it does not.
IBKR forex pricing and our spread-capture exclusion
A point I want to be clear about: IBKR publishes no measured spread anywhere on this site. The IBKR spread-capture exclusion is a scope limit, not a gap in our testing.
IBKR was not included in the spread-capture programme that covers the CFD brokers on this list. It prices forex on commission per trade, not a raw-spread retail account, so no measured spread appears here. Spot forex is routed through the IDEAL FX liquidity pool with direct order routing, and priced on commission from 0.20 basis points per trade on a US$2 minimum.
I need to flag that Interactive Brokers advertises EUR/USD from around 0.10 pips on per-trade commission pricing. That is the broker’s own published figure, not a CompareForexBrokers measurement, and no Interactive Brokers spread appears in the capture that produced the measured figures on the other review pages.
IBKR sells a different product from the CFD brokers ranked around it. If you arrive from a forex comparison, the natural expectation is a measured average in this position, and IBKR instead runs institutional-style spot conversion and trading, not a leveraged retail CFD on a marked-up spread. IBKR lists no crypto CFDs either, so the 2:1 crypto cap never applies here.
IBKR funding methods and withdrawal times
Interactive Brokers lists four AUD funding methods for Australian accounts: PayID, Electronic Funds Transfer, Wise Balance, and BPAY.
PayID is “available in minutes to few hours” and BPAY is available in 1 business day, per the deposit screen captured in our live account before the 7 September 2026 deposit. Neither card funding nor PayPal is offered.
Deposit methods (Australian clients)
| Method | Fee | Speed |
|---|---|---|
| PayID | Not stated on the deposit screen | Available in minutes to few hours (IBKR deposit screen, live account, captured before 7 September 2026) |
| Bank transfer (EFT) | No fee | Available in 1 business day or less (same screen) |
| Transfer from Wise Balance | No fee | Not stated; the screen labels it for international transfers |
| BPAY | No fee | Up to A$100,000, available in 1 business day (same screen) |
| Wire transfer (international) | Bank fees apply | 1 to 3 business days |
| Visa / Mastercard | Not offered | n/a |
| PayPal | Not offered | n/a |
PayID is the fastest route by IBKR’s own wording, so if you want money in the account on the day you deposit, that is the one to pick. EFT and BPAY each run to a business day by IBKR’s stated timings, and both ask you to notify IBKR when you send the funds so the deposit is not left waiting to be matched, a small extra step that costs you nothing but a minute. My advice is to use PayID for most Australian traders funding a retail account, while EFT’s suitability for large amounts makes it the better choice for sizeable transfers. The gap against a Pepperstone or Plus500 account is cards: neither of those platforms makes you route a deposit through bank rails, and IBKR does, so I’d tell a card-funded trader to expect a change of habits here.
Noam Korbl funded the live account after approval, and IBKR’s “Deposit Activity Update” email said the AUD deposit was processed on 7 September 2026, valued the same day and made available the same day, with the email describing it as a wire deposit. The dashboard our capture pulled on 17 September 2026 shows A$200.00 in settled cash and A$200.00 in buying power, with zero profit or loss. Our record does not show the method used to send the money or the time it was sent, so this page gives no transfer duration for the deposit. I read the same-day processing, value date and availability as good signs for your own funding, and I’d check IBKR’s email against those three dates, since it is the record to confirm your own deposit landed.



Withdrawals
The first withdrawal each calendar month is free. Subsequent withdrawals attract a small wire fee. Withdrawals go back to your Australian bank account on the same rails as deposits.
Account opening
By Noam Korbl’s notes, Interactive Brokers approved our tester’s Australian application 24 hours and 35 minutes after submission, lodged at 2:10 pm on 25 August 2026 and approved at 2:45 pm on 26 August 2026, against IBKR’s stated “most applications are processed within 24 hours”. His notes also record that the form itself took about 10 minutes to complete and submit. I’d call the 24 hours 35 minutes IBKR running 35 minutes past its own stated 24 hours, and that turnaround is the number to plan around when you apply.
The sequence is longer than most. It starts with an email, username, password and country, then the account type: Individual or Joint, with Trust, Advisor and Business groups below. Identity comes next: legal name, date of birth, residential address, then a mobile number that receives a five-digit SMS code, and that number keeps receiving login codes until you activate an authentication app or card. Base currency choices run AUD, GBP, EUR, HKD and USD, then employment status and employer details, whether you or family work for a financial firm, whether you are associated with a publicly traded company, your source of wealth with a percentage split across categories, and income and net worth in AUD bands. I’d have your employer details and a rough split of your net worth ready before you start, or the form will stop you while you hunt for them.





Then come the questions a CFD-only broker does not ask. You choose between an “Investment Account”, a cash account with no short selling or borrowing and limited options strategies, and a “Trading Account”, which permits short selling, all option strategies and trading with unsettled funds; Noam chose the Trading Account. Below that sit the trading-permission switches: stocks, options, bonds, index options, futures, futures options, single-stock futures, stock, index and forex CFDs, and complex or leveraged exchange-traded products, with Noam switching on stocks and options. Each asset class you select then asks your years of experience, trading frequency and knowledge level, and options run Levels 1 to 4 in rising risk, with Level 1 covering covered positions such as covered calls and buy-writes. What I like here is that the account type and permissions are settled at sign-up, so you are not renegotiating access later.



Tax comes next: marital status, dependants, Australian tax residency and your Tax File Number, with a warning that without an Australian tax identification number investment income is withheld at the top rate, plus a US W-8BEN certification signed electronically inside the application. Identification is a driver’s licence: identification number, card number, state of issue and expiry date typed into the form. Noam’s notes record no selfie, live face scan or document-photo upload in this run, and the screens do not show how or by whom those licence details were checked. I’d have your licence beside you at this step, because the form wants all four details typed in rather than photographed.


Near the end a “Processing your request” message said it was taking longer than expected and asked not to close the page, after which the flow continued to Agreements and Disclosures and an electronic signature. The status page then read “Most applications are processed within 24 hours” and offered funding before approval, saying “We review funded account applications first”, with the money returned if the application is not approved. My read is that this is one of the longer and more detailed applications among the brokers our team has tested, but also one of the best organised, with one type of information per screen, clear progression, and the built-in SMS and identification checks, a view Noam’s own assessment supports. I’d point you elsewhere if you want a five-minute form and an instant card deposit, because this will feel long. For multi-asset access, product-level permissions and the account type set up correctly from day one, this application does that work for you before you ever place a trade.


IBKR account types and minimum deposit
Interactive Brokers offers one retail account type in Australia, IBKR Pro, with an A$0 minimum deposit and a single pricing plan. The table below names both account types and their minimum deposit levels.
Account options for Australian clients
| Account | Pricing | Min deposit | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| IBKR Pro | Per-trade commission | A$0 | Active traders and global investors |
| Wholesale / Institutional | Bespoke | Varies | Wholesale clients only |
The absence of an IBKR Lite tier in Australia is structural, not a missing feature. The retail-versus-raw plan choice every CFD broker on this list offers does not arise here, because IBKR sells one retail pricing plan and prices it per trade.
The “Pro” in IBKR Pro is a pricing-plan name, not a legal classification under the Corporations Act, and the two are unrelated. IBKR Australia runs no conventional professional CFD tier of the kind that lifts leverage at Pepperstone or Global Prime, and I would flag that as a hard limit for anyone wanting higher leverage, confirmed in July 2026. The entity is Interactive Brokers Australia Pty Ltd throughout, so you can’t route to an offshore arm. Traders seeking leverage above the retail cap do not find it here. IBKR runs no swap-free (Islamic) account, confirmed with the desk in July 2026.
Minimum deposit
IBKR’s minimum deposit is A$0. IBKR removed the historical US$10,000 minimum in 2021, which I would call a significant barrier removal, so you can open an account with no funds and trade once the first deposit clears.
IBKR trading platforms
Interactive Brokers runs its trading platforms on a proprietary suite led by Trader Workstation, with native TradingView integration the only third-party route. MT4, MT5 and cTrader are absent from the line-up.
I would call that a deliberate gap, one that pushes traders toward the IBKR ecosystem.
Trader Workstation (TWS)
TWS is the flagship desktop platform and the reason IBKR retains its institutional reputation. It runs on a Java base across Windows, macOS and Linux. Inside, you get more than 100 chart studies, full options chain analytics, BookTrader for order-book trading, ScaleTrader for ladder execution, multi-leg spread builders, the Portfolio Builder, the Risk Navigator, the Probability Lab and the Options Strategy Lab. TWS trades that depth for a learning curve, and it is not a beginner platform.
IBKR Desktop
IBKR Desktop is the second proprietary desktop platform, offered alongside TWS.
IBKR Mobile
You can use IBKR Mobile as the full companion to TWS, carrying the same data and the same execution paths in a condensed interface.
IBKR GlobalTrader
GlobalTrader is IBKR’s lighter mobile app, built for casual investors who want a Stake-style experience on the IBKR account underneath, and it gives you a simpler on-ramp if Trader Workstation feels too complex. IBKR released it in 2022. It’s the lighter mobile route, and we compare it on the best trading apps in Australia page.
Client Portal (web)
Client Portal is the browser-based account dashboard, with order entry, charts, news and reporting.
IBKR API
The Trader Workstation API supports Python, Java, C++, .NET and a REST interface, giving you direct programmatic trading access if you are a quant trader or researcher. Quant retail traders, small hedge funds and academic researchers use it.
What IBKR does not offer
MT4, MT5 and cTrader are absent here, and IBKR runs no copy or social trading of any kind either, so for you MetaTrader expert advisors do not run here and mirroring another trader is not available.
IBKR multi-currency accounts and conversion costs
For you, IBKR holds AUD, USD, EUR, GBP and more than 20 other currencies natively, and I would say that removes the two forced conversions a US-share round trip costs elsewhere.
IBKR multi-currency accounts hold each currency as its own cash balance. Most Australian brokers run a forced-conversion model instead: the broker converts AUD to USD on the purchase of a US share, then converts back on the sale. That’s two conversions per round trip, each carrying the broker’s conversion charge, and over years the drag compounds against your return.
The compulsory leg is removed. AUD to USD conversion is available on the day at the IDEAL FX rate for around 0.20 basis points, or USD can be borrowed against the AUD balance at the financing rate, and IBKR lets you choose, which I would call a genuine choice no forced-conversion broker can match. It holds balances in AUD, USD, EUR, GBP, JPY, CAD, CHF, HKD and SGD under one login.
Fractional shares on US-listed equities and ETFs belong to the same story. A holding built in fractions needs no minimum parcel size and no conversion to reach one, which is why the A$0 minimum deposit and the multi-currency account work together rather than separately. I’ll say it plainly: for an Australian-resident investor with meaningful US share exposure, this single feature saves more per year than the entire forex commission line.
IBKR markets and instrument counts
IBKR offers 150 markets in 33 countries across nine asset classes, the widest range of the brokers on this site, so you can reach almost any market directly and you own the assets rather than trading CFDs. Most instruments are owned outright rather than traded as CFDs.
| Asset class | Count | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Equities | 150+ markets in 33 countries | ASX, NYSE, NASDAQ, LSE, TSX, Euronext, Xetra, Tokyo, Hong Kong, Singapore and more |
| Options | US, European, Australian and Asian markets | Multi-leg strategies supported natively |
| Futures | CME, CBOT, NYMEX, COMEX, ICE, EUREX, ASX 24 | ASX 24 covers the Sydney futures contracts |
| Bonds | Corporate, government and municipal | Direct market access across major markets |
| Mutual funds | 47,000+ globally | Through FundsPlus |
| ETFs | ASX plus the full US universe | Fractional trading on US-listed ETFs |
| Forex | 100+ pairs | IDEAL FX, direct ECN routing |
| CFDs | Index, single-stock and forex | A side product here, not the main event |
| Cryptocurrencies | Limited spot and crypto-tracking products | No crypto CFDs |
Most of what you buy at IBKR is owned outright, and the CFD line sits alongside those holdings rather than replacing them. That reverses the shape of every CFD-first broker on this list. Owning the asset outright is the other half of the share CFDs versus share ownership comparison, and the distinction is worked through in the guide to CFDs compared with share ownership.
ASX and global share investing
IBKR is the cheapest ASX brokerage on this site, from A$6 a trade, across 150-plus markets in 33 countries. These are shares you own, not CFDs. IBKR lists single-stock CFD variants alongside for traders wanting leverage or shorts, and fractional shares cover US-listed stocks and ETFs.
Options, futures and bonds
Options, futures and bonds are available across US, European, Australian and Asian markets with native multi-leg support, and futures cover CME, CBOT, NYMEX, COMEX, ICE, EUREX and ASX 24. Bond coverage runs to government, corporate and municipal issuers with direct market access. I haven’t seen any other Australian retail broker offer these three classes at this depth.
Forex at IBKR
Spot forex trades on commission through IDEAL FX, with direct order routing across 100-plus pairs and no marked-up spread. IBKR also reaches 47,000 mutual funds through FundsPlus.
IBKR leverage and margin under ASIC rules
Interactive Brokers caps major forex pairs at a maximum retail leverage of 30:1 under ASIC rules, and classifies every AUD pair, AUD/USD included, as a minor at 20:1.
That classification runs against you. Every other broker on this site treats AUD/USD as a major at the 30:1 cap. IBKR does not, so leverage on the home pair is a third less here than at a Pepperstone or an IC Markets.
The rest of the ladder follows the regulator. ASIC caps retail CFD leverage at 20:1 on minor pairs, gold and major indices, 10:1 on commodities other than gold, 5:1 on share CFDs and 2:1 on crypto assets. Those caps come from a product intervention order extended to 23 May 2027, so they apply at every ASIC broker. IBKR lists no crypto CFDs, so the 2:1 cap never arises. The 30:1 ceiling and the minor tiers are set out in the guide to ASIC leverage caps.
IBKR does not fit the CFD leverage template. Most holdings are owned outright, so the borrowing sits in a margin loan against the account rather than inside a leveraged contract. If you trade US equities, margin call thresholds and Pattern Day Trader rules apply first. ASIC requires every CFD issuer to close out a retail client’s positions once account equity falls below 50 percent of total initial margin on open positions, and a gapping market closes a position below that level.
IBKR customer support
Live chat answered inside two minutes during Australian business hours in our testing. Customer support runs 24/5, Sunday 1:00 PM to Friday 7:30 PM US Eastern Time.
Overnight the same chat queue ran past five minutes. That second figure matters more to you than the first, because US Eastern trading hours put the Australian evening squarely in the overnight band, and the evening is when most traders are likely at the screen.
IBKR supports three contact channels: telephone, live chat and email. All three run on the same 24/5 window, which closes from Friday evening US Eastern until Sunday afternoon US Eastern. In Australian terms, you face a full weekend without coverage, and a funding or margin question raised on a Saturday waits until Monday morning Sydney time.
I haven’t seen a dedicated Australian support line or a separate escalation path for retail accounts in its published material.
IBKR research, tools and education
You get ten integrated research feeds inside Trader Workstation, from Reuters and Morningstar to Risk Navigator and Probability Lab, at no extra cost.
Research stack
The ten components integrated into TWS are:
- Reuters news feed
- Morningstar fundamental research
- Zacks earnings data
- Briefing.com market commentary
- TipRanks analyst coverage
- IBKR’s own real-time scanner
- Risk Navigator portfolio risk analysis
- Probability Lab options strategy modelling
- PortfolioAnalyst account and portfolio reporting
- IBKR GlobalAnalyst
Ten separately licensed feeds and tools at no additional cost is the deepest research stack in our coverage. For you, that depth is both a strength and a hurdle: the same density that makes the stack valuable to a professional is the density that makes TWS slow to learn.
Education
Traders’ Academy is IBKR’s free education hub, running modular courses on options, futures, fixed income, forex and equity trading. It tracks course completion, and the material assumes you already trade.
What traders say about Interactive Brokers
| Rating site | Rating | Based on | Who rated | Captured |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trustpilot | 3.1 out of 5 | 5,477 reviews | Worldwide | September 2026 |
| App Store | 4.35 out of 5 | 1,242 ratings | Australia only | August 2026 |
| TradingView | 4.2 out of 5 | 38,904 ratings | Worldwide | September 2026 |
Each row above is a public rating of Interactive Brokers taken from a rating site, dated to the month its figure was captured. An App Store rating counts ratings left on Apple's Australian App Store only, while a Trustpilot figure counts reviews and a TradingView figure counts ratings from anywhere in the world. A site with no row has no rating for Interactive Brokers, withholds it, cannot be matched to Interactive Brokers with confidence, or we have not captured it yet.
How IBKR compares to Pepperstone and IC Markets
IBKR undercuts every broker on this site for ASX trades, from A$6 per trade, and reaches 150 markets where the CFD field is built around forex. Pepperstone and IC Markets carry the MetaTrader platforms IBKR does not.
The comparison runs on brokerage, market count and platform availability rather than on spread, because IBKR publishes no measured spread for this site to rank. The MetaTrader platforms absent here run at Pepperstone, priced in full in the Pepperstone review. The same holds at IC Markets, set out in the IC Markets review.
That concession is real and sits beside the win. IBKR takes the brokerage and the market count; it loses the platform comparison outright to any cTrader or MT5 broker, and it loses the forex-cost comparison by not entering it. The table below points you to the broker to pick for a specific priority.
Put Interactive Brokers next to any of the other 31 ASIC-regulated brokers we cover.
Interactive Brokers FP Markets Middle of the measured field
FP Markets measures 0.63 pips on the raw eight-pair basket; Interactive Brokers carries no figure, no measured 8-pair raw average.
FP Markets measures 0.3 pips on raw EUR/USD; Interactive Brokers carries no figure, no single-pair EUR/USD figure on record.
FP Markets quotes 1.24 pips on standard EUR/USD; Interactive Brokers carries no figure, no typical standard-account EUR/USD figure.
FP Markets charges A$7.00 on round-turn commission; Interactive Brokers carries no figure, prices per trade, not per lot.
FP Markets comes to A$159.87 on raw account cost at ten standard lots a month; Interactive Brokers carries no figure, no measured 8-pair raw average.
FP Markets comes to A$176.89 on standard account cost at ten standard lots a month; Interactive Brokers carries no figure, no typical standard-account EUR/USD figure.
Interactive Brokers' A$0 and FP Markets' A$100 straddle the middle broker's A$50.
Interactive Brokers runs TradingView, Own platform; FP Markets runs MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView.
Interactive Brokers holds AFSL 453554; FP Markets holds AFSL 286354.
Interactive Brokers' 88 / 100 sits 13 above the middle broker's 75; FP Markets' 86 / 100 sits 11 above it.
Interactive Brokers' 3.1 / 5 and FP Markets' 4.8 / 5 straddle the middle broker's 4.3.
Interactive Brokers' 4.34 / 5 sits 0.20 below the middle broker's 4.54; FP Markets' 3.4 / 5 sits 1.14 below it.
Interactive Brokers' 4.2 / 5 sits 0.3 below the middle broker's 4.5; FP Markets' 3.8 / 5 sits 0.7 below it.
FP Markets' 1,350 matches the middle broker's 1,350; Interactive Brokers' 50,860 sits 49,510 above it.
Capture: September 2026 · AUD/USD 0.7010 (25 Sept 2026) · field: the measured field varies by row, from 16 to 24 brokers, of 32 reviewed.
Bars run lowest to highest across the measured field; the tick marks the middle broker.
| If you value… | Consider |
|---|---|
| MT4 or MT5 for forex | Pepperstone or IC Markets |
| Tightest forex spreads with lower complexity | Pepperstone, IC Markets or Fusion Markets |
| cTrader | Pepperstone or FP Markets |
| Same broad CFD range with proprietary platform | CMC Markets or IG Markets |
| Beginner-focused investing | eToro or Plus500 |
| Copy trading | eToro |
Should you open an IBKR account?
I’d say an IBKR account suits investors building a global portfolio, from A$6 ASX brokerage across 150 markets in 33 countries. Traders running MetaTrader expert advisors are better served by Pepperstone.
IBKR resolves differently for three reader types. As an investor holding Australian and US shares for years, you get the strongest case on this site: the brokerage floor, the multi-currency account and the fractional-share support all compound in the same direction. A forex CFD trader gets the weakest: no MetaTrader, no cTrader, no measured spread to compare, and AUD/USD margined as a minor at 20:1.
A beginner sits between the two. Trader Workstation takes two to four weeks of paper trading to learn, which is a real cost, and GlobalTrader is the lighter route in for anyone who wants the account without the desktop platform. I’d suggest the free paper-trading version of TWS as the sensible first step either way.
You can see the full ranking on the guide to the best forex brokers in Australia. IBKR ranks fifth of the brokers on this site.
Open an Interactive Brokers account → (affiliate link, see our advertiser disclosure)
FAQs
Is Interactive Brokers trustworthy?
How do I withdraw money from Interactive Brokers?
What leverage does Interactive Brokers offer in Australia?
Does Interactive Brokers offer MetaTrader 4 or MetaTrader 5 in Australia?
What is the minimum deposit for Interactive Brokers?
How long does Interactive Brokers take to open an account in Australia?
Can I trade ASX shares with Interactive Brokers?
Does Interactive Brokers charge an inactivity fee?
Is Trader Workstation hard to learn?
Testing log
| Record | Detail |
|---|---|
| Review published | 16 May 2026 |
| Last content change | 26 September 2026 |
| Verification | ASIC register checked 16 July 2026; live AUD Individual account (****0804) approved 26 August 2026 by the tester's notes and funded with A$200, made available 7 September 2026 |

